• Monday, October 02, 2023


Asia Cup 2023 final over in the blink of an eye as India hammer ‘no-show’ Sri Lanka by 10 wickets

A clinical bowling performance by India pacers saw the islanders getting bowled out for a paltry 50 inside 16 overs.

India fast bowler Mohammed Siraj celebrates the dismissal of Sri Lanka batter Charith Asalanka in Asia Cup 2023 final match, at R Premadasa Stadium, in Colombo, Sri Lanka, on Sunday, September 17, 2023. (ANI Photo)

By: Shubham Ghosh

INDIA blew away defending champions Sri Lanka by 10 wickets in the final of the Asia Cup 2023 at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, Sri Lanka, after skittling them out for a paltry 50 runs inside 16 overs.

This was India’s eighth Asia Cup title which is the highest number of times by any team. It was also a multi-national tournament that India won for the first time after 2018.

For India, all wickets were claimed by the pacers with Mohammed Siraj producing his country’s best individual bowling performance in Asia Cup with six wickets for 21 runs. Hardik Pandya took three and Jasprit Bumrah one wicket.

India win Asia Cup 2023
Indian players pose for with the Asia Cup 2023 Trophy, at R. Premadasa Stadium, in Colombo, Sri Lanka, on Sunday, September 17, 2023. (ANI Photo)

It was Siraj’s first five-wicket haul in the 50-over format and he was the second quickest to pick 50 wickets in the format in terms of ball bowled.

India overhauled the modest target in just 6.1 overs with their openers Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan remaining unbeaten on 27 and 23 runs, respectively. It was India’s biggest win in terms of balls remaining (263).

While Siraj was adjudged the man of the match award, India left-arm spinner Kuldeep Yadav bagged the player of the series award with nine scalps.

Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat but their batters fell like ninepins from the very first over when Bumrah picked their dashing left-hand opener Kushal Perera. They lost half their sides in four overs and it was also going downhill for them from there. Wicket-keeper-batter Kushal Mendis was the top scorer for the islanders with 17 runs off 34 balls.

Related Stories