World Cup 2023: Commentators in splits after Pakistan keeper asks Bangladesh batter whether he was out!
Mohammad Rizwan asked Bangladesh batter Taskin Ahmed whether he edged the ball before deciding to go to the third umpire.
A scene from the Pakistan-Bangladesh match in ICC World Cup 2023 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata, India, on Tuesday, October 31, 2023. (ANI Photo)
THE crucial match between Pakistan and Bangladesh at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday (31) remained witness to a funny incident that left the commentators and several television and online spectators in splits.
It happened in the 42nd over of the Bangladesh innings when one of their tailenders, Taskin Ahmed, was batting. Pakistan left-arm pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi tried to york the batter but the ball slid down the leg side and caught by wicket-keeper Mohammad Rizwan after clipping Ahmed’s bat. The fielding side went up for appeal but the on-field umpire turned it down.
Pakistan then thought to take the DRS call and at that time, Rizwan was asking Ahmed whether he had hit the delivery with his bat. He did it when Pakistan captain Babar Azam sought his opinion. The Bangladesh batter said the ball hit his pads and not the bat and at this, the commentators — Ravi Shastri and Waqar Younis — were amused that Rizwan asked the batter whether he was out or not.
The batter will never tell you the truth, remarked Shastri.
The Pakistani side eventually did not go upstairs and replays showed that the ball was far from Taskin’s bat.
Azam’s men dominated the game with both the ball and bat as they dismissed Bangladesh for 204 and then convincingly winning the match by seven wickets with both their openers scoring fifties.
The win helped Pakistan remain in the run for the semi-finals while Bangladesh were knocked out.