• Sunday, March 03, 2024


India pick squad for final three Tests against England; no Virat Kohli for rest of series

Middle order batter Shreyas Iyer, who could manage only 104 runs in the first two matches, was also left out.

India captain Rohit Sharma celebrates the fall of an England wicket with teammates on Day 2 of the second Test against England at ACA-VDCA Stadium on February 3, 2024 in Visakhapatnam, India. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

By: Shubham Ghosh

INDIAN selectors on Saturday (10) picked the national squad for the final three Test matches against England. The series stands tied 1-1 after the first two games.

The hosts named a 17-player group for the remaining Tests of the all important series of the World Test Championship.

Ace batter Virat Kohli was not picked after he withdrew from personal reasons that needed “undivided attention”. Middle order batter Shreyas Iyer, who could manage only 104 runs in the first two matches, was also left out. Spinner-all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and batter KL Rahul were picked but their availability in the playing XI was subject to fitness. The duo were ruled out of the second Test in Visakhapatnam after sustaining injuries in the first game in Hyderabad.

Read: Jasprit Bumrah becomes 1st India pacer to top ICC Test rankings

Seamer Akash Deep received his maiden Test call-up while Mukesh Kumar, who came under criticism for his bowling performance in Visakhapatnam, was retained in the squad. Vice captain Jasprit Bumrah, who took nine wickets in the second match to help India level the series, was also in the squad, putting an end to speculation that he might be rested.

Rajat Patidar, who made his debut in the second game, and Sarfaraz Khan, who was also called in the squad before the same game, also remained.

Read: Why England cricket squad will leave India after 2nd Test loss

The side will be led by Rohit Sharma.

The third Test begins on February 15 in Rajkot, while the fourth will be held in Ranchi from February 23 and the fifth and final in Dharamsala from March 7.

England won the first Test by 28 runs before India won the second by 106 runs.

India squad for the final three Tests against England: Rohit Sharma (captain), Jasprit Bumrah (vice captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (wicket-keeper), KS Bharat (wicket keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep

Related Stories