• Sunday, April 21, 2024


IPL 2024 to begin on March 22; itinerary partially revealed due to general elections

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will play Royal Challengers Bangalore in a South Indian derby in the first match in Chennai.

Chennai Super Kings players celebrate with the Indian Premier League 2023 trophy after beating Gujarat Titans in the final at Narendra Modi Stadium, in Ahmedabad, India, on May 30, 2023. (ANI Photo)

By: Shubham Ghosh

INDIA’S favourite annual T20 celebrations will be back on March 22 when the 17th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will kick off with a game between the defending champions, Chennai Super Kings, and the Royal Challengers Bangalore at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The schedule of 21 matches till April 7 has been unveiled as of now. The remaining part will be announced later due to the upcoming general elections, the dates for which are yet to be notified and are expected to be announced in early March.

Gujarat Titans, who were denied their second crown in as many years by Chennai in last year’s final, will take on Mumbai Indians in a mouth-watering clash in Ahmedabad in Gujarat on March 24.

The fixture has gained a lot of hype after star all-rounder Hardik Pandya moved to his former franchise Mumbai. Pandya will lead Mumbai this time, replacing Rohit Sharma while Shubman Gill has taken over the captaincy of Gujarat. On the same day, Rajasthan Royals and Lucknow Super Giants will launch their campaigns in Jaipur in another mega clash.

Read: IPL 2024 will be held entirely in India despite polls, says its chairman

Delhi Capitals will play their first couple of home matches at Delhi’s Arun Jaitley Stadium as the venue will not be available just days after hosting the Women’s Premier League which will be played on March 17. They will play Chennai in their opening home fixture on March 31 and Kolkata Knight Riders on April 3. Both the clashes will be played in Visakhapatnam in Andhra Pradesh.

Read: Etihad Airways now official sponsor of IPL’s Chennai Super Kings

Delhi will play their first match of the tournament against Punjab Kings in Mohali, the latter’s home ground, on March 23. Kolkata will also launch their campaign the same day in Kolkata, their home turf, against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

A total of 10 teams will take part in the tournament.

Chennai and Mumbai have won the IPL crown five times each while Kolkata won twice. Gujarat, Hyderabad and Rajasthan have won the tournament once apart from a now-defunct side — Deccan Chargers.

Related Stories