• Thursday, July 25, 2024


With their T20 WC win, India now have won world crowns in 4 continents

The Men in Blue have won the world title in Europe, Asia, Africa and the Americas. Only Australia with eight world crowns have won the title in five continents.

India cricketers Virat Kohli (L) and Rohit Sharma celebrate with the ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup following their team’s win over South Africa at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados, on June 29, 2024. (Photo by Gareth Copley/Getty Images)

By: Shubham Ghosh

INDIA led by Rohit Sharma on Saturday (29) won their second T20 World Cup at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown in Barbados when they defeated South Africa by seven runs.

Batting first after winning the toss, the Men in Blue scored 176 for 7 in 20 overs and later restricted the Proteas to 168 for the loss of eight wickets.

It was the first time that India won the T20 World Cup in 17 years. Their previous crown came in 2007, when the inaugural edition was held, in South Africa under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

Read: India beat South Africa in seesaw final to lift 1st T20 World Cup in 17 years

Overall, India have now won four World Cup crowns — two in one-day internationals and two in T20s.

The four crowns have come in four different continents.

In 1983, India won the one-day international World Cup (60 overs then) under Kapil Dev’s captaincy at Lord’s in London, UK. In the final, India had defeated the West Indies by 43 runs.

Read: Virat Kohli retires from T20 cricket after India win World Cup

The next crown came in 2007 when India beat arch-rivals Pakistan by five runs in the final in Johannesburg in South Africa.

In 2011, India won their second one-day international World Cup (50 overs), again under Dhoni. This triumph came at home in Mumbai where the Men in Blue crushed Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final.

The latest victory has come after a gap of 13 years and in the Caribbeans in the Western Hemisphere.

Australia have won the World Cups in 5 continents

India are behind only Australia in terms of World Cup crowns. The Kangaroos have six world titles in one-day internationals; one in T20s and one trophy in World Test Championship (WTC). They have won in five different continents — Asia (1987 and 2023 one-day World Cups and 2021 T20 World Cup), Europe (1999 one-day World Cup and 2023 WTC), Americas (2007 one-day World Cup in the West Indies), Africa (2003 one-day World Cup), and Australia (2015 one-day World Cup).

The West Indies also have four World Cup crowns — two in one-day internationals (60 overs) and two in T20 World Cup. They won the 1975 and 1979 crowns in England under Clive Lloyd and the 2012 and 2016 editions of the T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka and India, respectively.

England have three World Cup crowns — the 2019 one-day international World Cup at home and the 2010 T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia.

Sri Lanka have two World Cup trophies — the 1996 one-day international world title in Pakistan and the 2014 T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.

Pakistan also have two World Cup trophies — the 1992 trophy in one-day internationals and the 2009 title in T20s.

Related Stories